What's new

Why Did You Buy Your Surface Pro and How Do You Use It?

bondr007

I bought my SP 2017 to replace my SP 2, which is still trucking along just fine. I am a Real Estate Agent and I just couldn't see myself lugging around my 15 inch HP Envy. My SP 2's screen is too small to do any prolonged serious work on it, but the SP 2017 is perfect. I tried to use my iPad Pro for work, and found it was very frustrating trying to make apps replace full blown computer programs. The SP 2017 is so much more versatile, in that it runs a full PC OS. Not even a second thought when I work on it. It just does what I need it to do, like a real PC should. Don't get me wrong, I like my iPad pro. It's a beautiful piece of hardware, but it ain't no PC replacement. I can't see getting a Surface Book, as cool as it would be to have one. The SP 2017 just does everything I need it too do just as well, and has a smaller footprint to boot. Job well done MS.

SJLPHI

I bought my SP3 to compare to Lenovo X260/T480 Toughbook CF-19Mk6 to see how it compares/competes as an on-the-go laptop.

So far, I have a mixed opinion about it. I like its flexibility but I dislike its lack of rigidness when I want to use it as a laptop. Its battery lasts too short compared to most modern tablets and laptops, it has quite the power but frequently overheats (~80C = thermal limit) despite undervolting, the lack of access to maintenance ports is an issue. I want to re-paste it and put on larger SSD and I hate the idea of soldered RAM. I also dislike the modified Windows 10 options for it.

Also for some reason the stylus that came with it works every other touchpad capable machine except this one, and at the same time the machine picks up touch just fine as long as it is from my fingers.

I took it to one flight so far and I absolutely loved the fact that I could literally game for hours (plugged in) with a trackball but then again my CF19 would do a better job, just heavier.