What's new

UK Impressions of the Surface Pro 2

mjgerrard

Hi all,

As a new member here I thought I'd have a nose around, but I couldn't see a sticky thread for "new owner". I thought I'd come at this from a different point of view.

Research and Use cases

I work as a network engineer (Cisco), working in datacentres and in customer offices to deliver new networks and phone systems. I used to subscribe to the two device paradigm, where I had a Lenovo X220 (2nd gen i5) laptop with 16GB RAM and 256GB SSD for main work duties, and a Surface RT 32GB as my media consumption and general grab-and-go device.

After owning the RT for a couple of months (I purchased when the prices dropped), I loved the form factor and wished that the Lenovo was as compact and as high quality as the Surface RT. The Surface Pro 2 was the right fit for me, knowing that it will last for the next few years as a tough, powerful and compact device. The only downside (Quite a big one actually) was that it only has 8GB RAM. I spend a lot of time using VMWare workstation to lab test Cisco Call manager and other RAM-heavy VM's, so I've really had to come up with other ways of working around this.

Overall though, my use cases were that I needed a tablet device that can work in data centres (Where there isn't typically somewhere to rest a PC); as well as tablet functionality for media/sofa surfing. Otherwise it's a great PC that works great on customer sites as a standard laptop, or at my desk in the office with a large monitor.

I also would use it for studying CCIE Voice, so I have the PC as my OneNote note taker (Pen input is a must), and use a Lenovo LT1421 USB monitor to watch the training videos.

Purchasing

Purchasing the Pro 2 in the UK, was frankly, a nightmare.