What's new

Surface waking from sleep & Windows Hello issues

CL78

Hi all,

I am new to this. I have SF pro 4 i5 256. I have been searching the forum and found many other users have similar issues. When waking up by pressing the power button from sleep mode, the screen stays black and I have to do a force restart. I have updated my Intel driver, and recently, I have enabled Window Hello, which at first seemed to resolve the problem. Recently, Window Hello would recognise me, but the screen background remain black, and not fully awake. Once again, I have to resort to force restart. In general, this would happen to me 2-3 times a day. Any ideas how to fix this? Thanks.

Cerif27

It's an ongoing issue. I get the impression everyone is having the problem. I've had the problem twice this morning and twice last night. Some people have found win+P twice helps, some have found tapping volume+power helps, and most have found that they have to hold volume+power for 20 seconds and then restart is the only thing that helps. To the best of my knowledge no one has actually fixed the issue, including MS, but I would love to be wrong.

leeshor

Certainly not everyone. I'm aware of 40+ Surface Pros not having that problem including 3 SP4s I support and mine.

rquellet

I'm having this issue on my i7 SP4. I tried all the fixes and driver updates. I reverted back to stock graphics drivers and turned off Windows Hello. This is a real problem and I am strongly considering returning the device. The least MS could do is acknowledge the problem. Even better would be a status and ETA for a fix. Better yet would be a beta fix for industrious owners to test out...

2_hotty