What's new

Surface pro 3 not turning on

esardinha08

Hello Everyone,

I have been using my surface pro 3 for around two months now and now it will not turn on at all. I tried all of the troubleshooting methods posted on MS's site, no go. I know there are no user replaceable parts in the surface but I need to get my data back. Is there anyway that I can get the info off of the hard drive? I know it will void the warranty but at this point it doesn't matter. Is it possible for the hard drive to be connected to an external sata adapter to usb?

Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
Hold the power button down for 30 seconds, wait 10 and the hold the volume rocker up and preys the power button until the Surface Logo comes up... it will boot you into UEFI make no changes and exit....

OP
E

esardinha08

Yes I have tried that, it will not turn on. Is there a way to retrieve the data? I already know Microsoft will not do it, they just replace it. I need to know if I can get my data back.

kundas1

don't you have it backed up to the onedrive? everything should be there if you did... if not then you would have to take it apart which will void the warranty and connect the HD some how to get the info off of it...

OP
E

esardinha08

I don't have it backed up or I wouldn't be asking this right now and what I need to know is, it is possible to connect the hard drive as my initial post stated. It has a micron SSD in it, can that be connected to an external sata to usb connector?

kundas1

reread my post, I said that you would have to open the SP3 to take out the SSD and somehow connect it, but if your data is so important to you then you should have backed it up to one drive instead of opening a SP3 and voiding the warranty, don't ya think?

OP
E

esardinha08