What's new

Soft keyboard woes. Advice please

pdes

I am a long-term Windows 10 user but until recently, have used an Android tablet so I am new to the Surface Pro 4. I also have the keyboard cover.

I am struggling to understand the "logic" of the soft keyboard on the SP4.

When I select a dialogue box in any app, I expect the soft keyboard to pop up and when I hit return after the text entry, for the keyboard to vanish. Is this a correct expectation?

Currently, the keyboard seems to pop up randomly and on most occasions, I have to hit the keyboard button to get it to appear. When it does, it's often in handwriting mode so I then have to select the keyboard mode. As mentioned before, the keyboard does not vanish after the text entry so I have to close it manually.

I have tried to find a solution and found a "fix" for Chrome but this didn't work either. I have made sure I am in "tablet" mode and have tried the manual and automatic switching.

Could someone please give me some guidance as to what to expect and, hopefully, point me to a setting that I may have missed as this is really spoiling the experience and excitement of a new system.

Many thanks

Philtastic

The handwriting keyboard is probably popping up because you tapped the text box using the pen, thus it is logical to pull up the stylus-based input method which generally works pretty well. Tap with your finger to have it bring up the typical touch keyboard. You can avoid having to go into tablet mode for the keyboard to automatically pop up by going into Start Menu -> Settings -> Devices -> Typing and toggling on the option at the bottom called "Show the touch keyboard...". This will enable automatic pop up of the touch keyboard in desktop mode.