What's new

Painting on SP3

Fuzzle

Hej guys,

I want to buy an SP3, but there's one Question standing in the way:

How good is it for painting?

What i really want to know is:
how is the screen textured? (i don't like to draw/ write on a slippery Glas-surface like most Tablets and i need the screen to give a little resistence similar to paper when i want to work precisely/ intuitive.

And if it doesn't feel like Paper (or at least like the texture/ surface that most wacom-lineup-tablets have) then,
Is there a way to give it "paperfeel" or a better writting-resistance without decreasing screen resolution too havily ("moiré"-effect et.c.)?

This is really important for me as i want to paint and write a lot, but cant aqcuire a taste for the whole "pen on glas" thing.

Thanks! (And sorry for my bad englisch)
Fuzzle

BillJ

There are several other threads in this forum that deal with the "artistic experience" with the
SP3. I am not an artist, so the performance of the pen for taking notes, drawing diagrams, and annotations is perfect for me.
However, some artists do not feel that the SP3 is nearly as good as other Wacom tablets for drawing and painting.
The glass display surface is just that- slippery glass. There may be screen covers or pen tip replacements that may simulate drawing on paper, but I am not aware of these.
The obvious suggestion would be to try to find a Surface device to try out, and see if it fits your needs.
I like many others on this forum love my SP3, but I realize that no device can be perfect for everybody.
Alles Gluck

OP
F

Fuzzle

Is there a subforum for artistic use?

I triedt he forum search but it didnt't work at all... (and still doesn't)

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
Were probably not supposed to say this but there might be a Surface Artist forum online if you search for it although there are several artists and artistic types around here also. However, I'm not an artist...