What's new

Not an artist - will I ever use the pen?

kensmo

I'm looking to buy a Windows tablet and/or convertible. Dell's new XPS laptops look very nice but the idea of the pen (with different tips) sounds intriguing.

I'm not an artist and can't draw to save my life. I'm a software developer and will use my new computer for development, web browsing, Netflix, and casual gaming. I don't use a computer to takes notes in meetings.

Once the novelty of drawing on the screen wears off, am I ever going to use the pen?

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
If you use a paper based note taking strategy, switch to OneNote and the Pen and it all becomes searchable and digital. You can also use it for any flow-charting, mind-maps, etc.

OP
K

kensmo

The idea of note-taking with a pen is probably the biggest attraction for me. I'm a heavy OneNote user. I use it on my MacBook Pro, my Windows 7 PC at work, and my iPhone (occasionally). I saw a "Tested" video for the SP3 where they were using the pen as a pointing device. My son has a Windows 8.1 laptop and he tried doing touch for a while but gave up because too many of the programs he uses were not touch friendly and the places he needed to "click" were too small for fingers. I could see a pen coming in handy when not using a mouse.

I use the pen to crop photos when I edit out and about, also if I need to note something quickly I will use the pen in one note. Also the pen can be handy when selecting text to copy on a webpage and pasting into one note

Johnny365

I wish OneNote had Share capabilities of Facebook/Twitter. I always have to crop a photo/webpage in OneNote, and then copy/paste it to Paint and then save it as a jpg only to upload it to Facebook that way. Would make things a lot easier.

leeshor