What's new

MS website claims up to 9 hours of video?

hughlle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Really agree, fairly everyone got half or less battery life.

I use mine at uni and at home, quite happily hit 7 hours. On the SP3 with Windows 8.1 I was hitting 9 without an issue. Never gotten 9 hours with win 10 though, and certainly not 7 while spending am evening browsing.

TonyJackson

I use mine at uni and at home, quite happily hit 7 hours. On the SP3 with Windows 8.1 I was hitting 9 without an issue. Never gotten 9 hours with win 10 though, and certainly not 7 while spending am evening browsing.
hi,I have no experience with SP3. However it also heavily relies on what kind of jobs. I tried surface 3 and it surprised me with light weight jobs (almost the same as official test). But it's not the case of SP4. To be honest, most will agree that apple's battery test matches better with real situations.

DavidZ

I can't even hit the 5 hour mark doing basic tasks.

You're not alone. That's pretty close to the average I see reported.

9 hours does not seem feasible.

Maybe not, but think of it this way. Clearly MS has a lot of work to do improving/optimizing both Windows 10 and the SP4 to minimize battery drain. For example, the sleep drain and keyboard drain issues. I have a high degree of confidence that these issues will be solved.

Is it not realistic to at least hope that they will also find ways to improve battery life? Perhaps not all the way to 9 hours, but certainly more than the 5 hours or so we're all getting now.

As I said before, MS has a lot riding on making these improvements. We're talking $billions here.

JordanAT

I could maybe get 4-5 hours playing back using windows player or VLC player (Tried both versions. The regular .exe and the app version).