What's new

Modern Word Processor Discussion Thread

goodintentions

It's been a long time coming. I actually didn't think I would ever publish it. But here it is.

Touch optimized word processor app. Trial has full access. I'll put out an update soon to add a few things like spell checker.

Please try it out and give me suggestions. Could really use a lot of it actually, as you can see I'm not that good with UI design.

Word Touch app for Windows in the Windows Store

OP
G

goodintentions

Good first try GI.

Why thank you, sir.

I didn't want it to be just another text editor app. Plenty of that around. I wanted to see how close I can get to MS Office if it had a touch optimized version.

I meant to publish the version with page orientation control, though. Still kicking myself for uploading the version that only has portrait mode. Next update, I guess.

OP
G

goodintentions

Just added a spell checking function like the one in MS word processor. Trying to wrap a C++ API in a C# program almost killed me, though.

3.png

OP
G

goodintentions

Just released another update. Vastly improved the spell checker. Made the spell checker window movable so you can drag it anywhere you want. Also made the menus collapsible so the user can view in full screen mode. And changed UI background color. Someone told me the purple is kinda ugly. So, I changed it to blue.
3.png
4.png

OP
G

goodintentions

I just changed the UI to make it more aesthetically pleasing. No more bright colors.

Updates include but not limited to: full screen mode, read-only mode, word count, spell checker, ability to open multiple documents through tabs, etc.