What's new

Microsoft Surface Music Kit (Music Blade and app)

EDRo

I was one of the lucky 500 grand prize winners in the #remixproject Vine contest on Twitter. My prize was a brand new Microsoft Surface 2 and the Music Kit!

Being a musician, my prize is especially perfect for me! I've seen several "winners" selling their Music Blade on eBay... NOT ME! I'm keeping mine! Apparently, this Music Blade device is not available on the market to the public for purchase. Getting one on eBay is the only way you'll be able to find one...

Anyway, I've been learning a little bit about this thing as time permits. (free time is something I don't ever have much of!) I've recently figured out how to import my own sounds and loops into the Music Kit app. The "templates, stems, and downloadable content" available is kinda "meh" to me, so as an artist, I've started creating my own stuff to use with this device.

Here's a video I recorded (with my trusty Nokia Lumia 1020) using my own custom sounds for the very first time on the Surface 2 w/Music Kit.

[video=youtube;Cy5TDnrExUc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cy5TDnrExUc[/video]

godson594

I was REALLY excited about this.... BUT unless they open it up as an actual controller for real software it seems like a total gimmick to me. Playing loops by touching pads has me going wtf?

Maybe I'm biased because I use a Native Instruments Maschine -

Again not shocked that there is a good idea with poor execution by the wonderful folks at Microsoft :)

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
I was REALLY excited about this.... BUT unless they open it up as an actual controller for real software it seems like a total gimmick to me. Playing loops by touching pads has me going wtf?

Again not shocked that there is a good idea with poor execution by the wonderful folks at Microsoft :)