What's new

Is Docking Station ruining the battery ?

Stephan

Hi,

I was wondering if the docking station is ruining the battery life of the SP3.

SP3 has lithium battery. In order to increase the battery life of lithium battery it is recommend to :
- Charge it when it's possible (for the cycles)
- not charge it when it's in use (and that's the problem with the docking station).

With a docking station the battery is constantly charging.

Do you think that has a huge impact on the battery life ?

Grumpy2

When plugged into the charger that came with the SP3 or when connected to the docking station, when the device is fully charged when you hover over the charging icon it says "Fully charged" or "Plugged in not charging (99%). So in other words when the device is fully charged it stops charging until the device drops below a certain level and then charges again. I am not an expert on battery life but I would not worry about it. What does worry me though is that this is an $2,000 device and you cannot replace the battery. So what happens when the battery dies. I guess that one then has to use it plugged into power all the time. I do not understand why manufacturers do this. should come with a user replaceable battery at this price point.

kundas1

Hi,

I was wondering if the docking station is ruining the battery life of the SP3.

SP3 has lithium battery. In order to increase the battery life of lithium battery it is recommend to :
- Charge it when it's possible (for the cycles)
- not charge it when it's in use (and that's the problem with the docking station).

With a docking station the battery is constantly charging.

Do you think that has a huge impact on the battery life ?