What's new

IPAD "Pro" is it a Joke?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knuck

I am not sure what the "Pro" means but it certainly doesn't mean for professionals. Unless I am mistaken, this new iPad is supposed to be a tool for creative professionals. I am a professional photographer/videographer and it is grossly inadequate. Not only can you not edit Raw files, at least I can't figure it out, but downloads using the new lightning to SD camera card is painfully slow and the features of the available apps are lacking in both features and power. Perhaps it would be a great tool for illustrators, although it is difficult to gage as the pencil at this point is hard to come buy, 4-5 week wait in my area. For everyone else it is just a larger iPad and nothing more. Microsoft has nothing to fear from this expensive toy.

raqball

It should have been called the iPad Plus because that's really all it is...

I can't see Apple selling many of them and part of the ones they do sell will probably be returned in short order..

There is an assumption that "Pro" means "What I consider professional". I also think there is an assumption that this will replace or compete with the Surface Pro, simply because the term "Pro" is the same (Apple used the term Pro long before Microsoft with the Macbook Pro, Mac Pro etc), when in reality I would say they are completely different markets and the comparisons by tech journalists are probably guilty because most of them are "tech" journalists who have no real knowledge of how tablets are used in business. So you were right in that Microsoft probably don't have much to worry about. There is probably a small market of people who may buy the iPad Pro instead of the Surface, but it's tiny. I would however say that Wacom probably have some reasons to be concerned, largely because I don't think they have managed to progress the stylus technology and the latency of the iPad Pro pencil is much better than the Wacom's I have used.