What's new

Solved Freezes During Update

MagicPuncher

The other day during an update we started having a serious problem. When we try and boot our Pro 2 we get the black screen with the word Surface in the middle, and below that it says "Fatal Error applying update operation XXXX of XXXX (the number is different every time. I can do a hard reboot and get to the repair screen, but none of the options seem to help. I can't do repair because it says there isn't enough free hard drive space (and obviously I can't free any up), I don't have any system restore points, and I tried a USB repair but it just does the same thing mentioned at the beginning. I'm a pretty tech savvy dude, but I'm at a total loss on this one....

leeshor

Welcome to the forum

I feel this is a problem that will get solved by someone here but I'm moving this to the help forum.

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
It kind of sounds like your problem stems from lack of disk space.

Does the number count up on the update failures? 2 of 10 then 3 of 10???

I think I would try to use Advanced recovery console to clear up some space. delete temp files and memory dumps, copy off any larger personal files or All of them... see where that gets you. If it's not enough you may need to get more aggressive on freeing up space.

Once you get through this initial problem you can do a more through Disk Cleaning and reorganization. Perhaps adding a microSD and relocating some folders.

OP
M

MagicPuncher

No, the number doesn't count up. I left it on all night and it didn't budge. I can reset it and it always does the same. It just gets stuck on the first number.

You said I should use the advanced recovery tools to clear some disk space, but I don't see any option for that. Can you explain how to do that?

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
Just to clear up some terminology, by "reset" do you mean "Power Off"?
because there's a "Reset" which means to completely reinstall Windows.